Enabling … hope

[I copied the four small paragraphs from the article linked below… I found it fascinating]

“However, Prof Jog was surprised that the treatment was long-lasting and worked even when the implant was turned off.”

“He believes the electrical stimulus reawakens the feedback mechanism from legs to brain that is damaged by the disease.”

“This is a completely different rehabilitation therapy,” he said. “We had thought that the movement problems occurred in Parkinson’s patients because signals from the brain to the legs were not getting through.”

“But it seems that it’s the signals getting back to the brain that are degraded.”

Parkinson’s results beyond researchers’ wildest dreams

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-47803496?fbclid=IwAR3i33h5NBl0oc2Y0cD_u1NUAJ06qZv4oUdySC0-HrgEBpIdGSMkVgsiiwc

Author: suerosier

In May of 2018, I was diagnosed with Parkinson's. After researching, I believe the symptoms began to manifest themselves years prior to last year. The purpose for my blog is to share what I have learned (with an index) to save others time as they seek for answers about, symptoms, therapies [and alternative things to try], tools I use, Parkinsonisms, recipes, strategies, clinical studies, words of encouragement or just enjoy the photos or humor.

Leave a comment